Taoist walk

A bird feeder seen during the walk.

  1. What was the most powerful sensation during the walk?

The strongest sensation I felt during the walk was a sense of harmony with nature as I enjoyed thinking about what was happening beyond my senses.

  1. Had you ever been on this path behind the school? If so, did you experience it differently this time?  If not, what was your impression of the walk?

I had not been on this path before, and I was shocked to find that such density of plant life could be found near a school that has a distinct lack of it.

What did you hear on the walk?

I heard birds chirping, plants swaying in the wind, and my classmates shivering.

  1. What did you smell on the walk?

I could smell the scent of the forest, the culmination of all the life working in harmony to create an incredible environment.

 

  1. What did you think on the walk?

I thought about the processes each and every plant was using to stay alive, and the interaction between them and the rest of the forest.

  1. How did you feel on the walk?

I felt connected to the forest through my actions and presence.

  1. How can this experience be compared to Taoism?

I felt like I was in harmony with the life in the forest much like how taoism stresses being in harmony with the tao.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *